Rabu, 12 Mei 2010

New York Marathon prize money

New York Marathon 2010 – Marathon of superlative: facts and figures

The New York Marathon for sure is a highlight of many runners in their personal annual running agenda. This year, the race offered some remarkable superlatives.
The New York Marathon already is called the „Olymp“ of running – runners are attracted by high prize money, numerous spectators and participants as well as a fantastic scenery.
The prize money is set at 130.000 US $ for the winner, in case of repeated victory the winner takes 200.000 US $. More great figures of this years New York Marathon: 124.000 applications for participation, 60.000 granted starting permissions, 46.000 starting runners and about two million spectators.
During the event a big surprise happened: the top favorite record holder Haile Gebrselassie (8-times world champion and actual world record holder with 2:03:59) quit the race and afterwards announced his resignation. His starting fee has also been a high score for a marathon runner: 400.000 US $. He would have got 200.000 US $ more in case he would have made a race under 2:07:30.
There is another big number in the game worth to mention: the value creation of the New York Marathon, which was 2006 an estimated 225 million US $.
This number contains all estimated profits in business fields related to the New York Marathon, such as tourism industry and additional tax income for the city of New York (2006 about 11 Millionen US $).
The nonprofit organisation of the New York Marathon, the „New York Road Runners“, are a big player in the running market with a yearly revenue of 50 million US $, 120 full-time employees and about 50 events during the year. 50 % of the clubs revenue is produced by the New York Marathon.
Results of the 41st New York Marathon
1. Gebre Gebrmariam (Äth) 2:08:14
2. Emmanuel Mutai (Ken) 2:09:18
3. Moses Kigen Kipkosgei (Ken) 2:10:39
4. Abderrahim Goumri (Mar) 2:10:51
5. James Kwambai (Ken) 2:11:31
6. Meb Keflezighi (USA/TV) 2:11:38
7. Marilson Gomes dos Santos (Br) 2:11:51
8. Dathan Ritzenhein (USA) 2:12:33
9. Abel Kirui (Kenia) 2:13:01
10. Abderrahime Bouramdane (Mar) 2:14:07
1. Edna Kiplagat (Ken) 2:28:20
2. Shalane Flanagan (USA) 2:28:40
3. Mary Keitany (Ken) 2:29:01
4. Inga Abitowa (Russ) 2:29:17
5. Kim Smith (Neus) 2:29:28
6. Christelle Daunay (Fr) 2:29:29
7. Ludmila Petrowa (Russ) 2:29:41
8. Caroline Rotich (Ken) 2:29:46
9. Madai Perez (Mex) 2:29:53
10. Buzunesh Deba (Äth) 2:29:55.